Hello everyone

Postby Earendil » Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:01 am

Hello, everyone! My name is Laura Miller, and I'm an eighteen-year-old student at an East Coast university. I'm an unabashed techno-geek, and would like to start off by introducing one of the more esoteric technologies I'm fond of: cryonics, which is the practice of freezing people in liquid nitrogen shortly after they "die", keeping their brain cells intact, so that they can be revived in the future when technology is more advanced. An introduction from the Cryonics Institute:

What is cryonics?

Cryonics is the preservation of legally dead humans or pets at very low temperature (below −200ºF, −130ºC) in the hope that future science can restore them to life, youth and health. Cryonicists are people who use or advocate cryonics to greatly extending life and youth.

Most diseases, including the progressive deterioration known as "getting old", are the result of damage to organs, tissues, cells and cellular components. With enough progress of medicine and molecular repair capability, all diseases should eventually be curable, including aging. Medicine in the future should be able to restore and maintain people in a condition of youth and health. Cryonics could be a lifeboat (or "first aid") to future medicine.

Because it is based on speculation about the capabilities of future science cryonics is not a science. Few scientists are qualified to say whether future science can or cannot realize the dream that motivates cryonics because scientists are only trained in current science. Many outstanding scientists have made false predictions about future technology. In 1885 Lord Kelvin declared that "Heavier-than-air flying machines are impossible." A couple of decades ago nearly all scientists believed that cloning was impossible. Conversely, cryonicists cannot guarantee that cryonics will work. Only the future will tell whether the predictions of cryonicists are correct.