Furries?

Discussion Of All Things Jenniversal (http://jenniverse.com)

Furries?

Postby Leasara » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:34 pm

I've been visiting Jennifer's comics since 2000 or 2001, some time early on in the Unicorn Jelly run. I've loaded that page, or Heliotrope, or To Save Her every day since I first found Unicorn Jelly, and today is the first day I have ever felt unwelcome.

I'm a transgendered woman, and while I first enjoyed the novelty of a slime-type creature that took on aspects of an animal I also identified with, I came to respect the comics for the views they expressed on acceptance and harmony. I have been trying to complete my transition (get SRS) for the last 12 years, ever since I was 18, and these comics are part of what have helped make that time bearable.

I am also a furry. If I had the chance, I would be an anthropormorphic unicorn (pretty much exactly like this).

I guess I was just surprised to see the "Jesus Cures the Leopards" comic, since it seems rather contrary to what I thought the rest of the comics were about, the whole tolerance thing. All I'm really looking for with this post is to find out what is behind that pic, are Jen and her fans really all anti-furry, or am I missing the joke.
Leasara
Welcome, New User!

Re: Furries?

Postby Idiot Glee » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:44 pm

Leasara wrote: are Jen and her fans really all anti-furry, or am I missing the joke.

@,@ !?!! ???
Hello!

And, "One thing there's no getting by—
I've been a wicked girl," said I;
"But if I can't be sorry, why,
I might as well be glad!"

-Millay
Idiot Glee
1000 Post Forum Master!

Postby strange_person » Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:24 pm

Have you... ever looked at the forums? Or fan art? At all?

It's not an anti-furry thing. It's a silly pun, and arguably anti-Jesus, but if you look closely you'll notice that the anthro leopard in question has not actually been 'cured,' because the state of being furry is not an illness.
Hello!

Praise be to Athè, and Hob, Her living vessel.