Childhood mental illness

Postby LastGypsies » Tue Aug 18, 2009 11:33 am

(Though I've posted in this forum before, this is my first attempt to start a thread, so forgive me if it isn't a very good one).

Last week I saw a documentary on HBO called Boy Interrupted, about a child who is diagnosed with a mental illness and who eventually commits suicide. On the IMDB boards there are all kinds of idiots claiming they know all about suicide or mental illness or how the parents made mistakes, but I can tell that a lot of them have no idea whatsoever of what they are talking about. The reason I'm bringing up this topic here is because I've been reading these boards for some time now, and I find the discussions that go on here to be quite interesting, so I was wondering what the people in this group might have to say about this.

My background causes this subject to be more than a casual interest for me. I became suicidal for the first time when I was seven years old, and it was a very scary and disturbing time for me. This is why when I hear people say that children don't understand death enough or haven't lived enough or whatever to become suicidal, I wish I could make them see the world as I did...it is one of the few beliefs I have that I absolutely am totally convinced of, because I have been there, and there was nothing in my environment that "got me interested" in suicide (as is usually the argument I hear from people), it came completely from within. In fact, I think I was suicidal before I ever understood that it was something that others had also endured. And whatever people may think about psychiatry, this is something that I only wish I could lie about.